71st Army Day Parade 2019

Every year Indian Army celebrates 15th January as ‘Army Day’ to commemorate the day when General (later Field Marshal) K M Carriappa took over the command of Army from General Sir FRR Bucher, the last British Commander-in-Chief in 1949 and became the first Commander-in-Chief of Indian Army post Independence.

  • The leading contingent of the parade was formed of the recipients of the Param Vir Chakra and Ashok Chakra awardees.
This was followed by army contingents which included ( Prelims Bits can be expected)
  • T-90 tank BHISHMA,
  • infantry combat vehicle BMP II,
  • M 777 ultra light howitzer,
  • K-9 Vajra guns,
  • Akash missile system,
  • Mobile transportable satellite terminal service vehicle,
  • surface minimum clearing system,
  • international sports awardees and
  • seven marching contingents including mounted horse cavalry.

Value addition ( Interview)

Field Marshal,Marshal of the Indian Air Force,Admiral of the Fleet

  • The highest rank attainable in the Indian Army is Field Marshal. Ranked as a Five Star General Officer, a Field Marshal is ranked above a General.
  • This rank has been conferred on only two individuals.
    • Field Marshal Sam Hormusji Framji Jamshedji Manekshaw, MC (3 April 1914 – 27 June 2008), popularly known as Sam Bahadur (“Sam the Brave”)
    • Field Marshal Kodandera “Kipper” Madappa Cariappa, OBE (28 January 1899 – 15 May 1993) (Order of the British Empire)
  • The highest rank attainable in the Air force is the Marshal of the Indian Air Force. It is mostly awarded in a ceremonial capacity. MIAFs are ranked immediately above the Chief of Air Staff.
    • Marshal of the Indian Air Force Arjan Singh, DFC (15 April 1919 – 16 September 2017) (Distinguished Flying Cross)
  • Admiral of the Fleet is the highest attainable rank in the Naval force. This Five Star rank is primarily conferred in wartime and honourary capacity.
    • This rank has never been conferred on any individual in the country.

Military Awards

Wartime gallantry awards
  •  Param Vir Chakra — Highest military award
  •  Maha Vir Chakra – The Maha Vir Chakra (MVC) is the second highest military decoration in India and is awarded for acts of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy, whether on land, at sea or in the air.
  •  Vir Chakra – Third in precedence in the awards for wartime gallantry
Peacetime gallantry awards
  1.  Ashok Chakra Award – An Indian military decoration awarded for valour, courageous action or self-sacrifice away from the battlefield. It is the peacetime equivalent of the Param Vir Chakra.
  2.  Kirti Chakra – Second in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards.
  3.  Shaurya Chakra – Third in order of precedence of peacetime gallantry awards.

Happy Birthday Tricolour!

Leave a Reply