Summary of Year End Review of Ministry of Women and Child Development

The Ministry of Women and Child Development, came into existence as a separate Ministry with effect from 30 January, 2006. It is the nodal Ministry for all matters relating to women and children.The prime functions of the Ministry include promoting the survival, protection, development and participation of women and children in a holistic manner.


Legislative Measures:

Sexual Harassment of Women at Workplace (Prevention, Prohibition and Redressal) Act, 2013

Programmatic Measures:

1.Indira Gandhi Matritva Sahyog Yojana (IGMSY),

a Conditional Cash Transfer scheme for pregnant and lactating women to better enabling environment by providing cash incentives for improved health and nutrition to pregnant and nursing mothers.Pregnant women of 19 years of age and above for first two live births are entitled for benefits under the scheme.

The beneficiaries are paid Rs.6000/- in two equal installments per pregnant and lactating women on fulfilling specific conditions related to maternal and child health to partly compensation for wage loss to mothers/women during pregnancy and period of lactation.

As per provision of the National Food Security Act, 2013, the Ministry has reviewed the entitlement of maternity benefits of IGMSY beneficiaries in 53 districts from Rs. 4000 to Rs. 6000

2.RMK: Rashtriya Mahila Kosh (National Credit Fund for Women)

The main objective of RMK is to provide micro-credit to poor women for various livelihood and income generating activities at concessional terms in a client-friendly credit delivery process and thereby bringing about their socio-economic development.

3. Swadhar – A Scheme for Women in Different Circumstances

  •  To provide primary need of shelter, food, clothing and care to the marginalized women/girls living in difficult circumstances who are without any social and economic support;
  •  To provide emotional support and counseling to rehabilitate them socially and economically through education, awareness etc.
  •  To arrange for specific clinical, legal and other support for women/girls in need;
  •  To provide for help line or other facilities to such women in distress.

Target Group/Beneficiaries

  • Deserted widows.
  •  Women prisnoers released and abandoned by their family
  •  Women durvivors of natural disasters
  •  Trafficked women and girls rescued
  •  Women victims of extreme violence
  •  Mentally challenged and women with HIV/AIDS deserted by family

4. Ujjawala

Mainly implemented with help of NGO’s have 5 key components.Prevention, rescue, rehabilitation, reintegration and Repatriation, to provide support to cross-border victims.

5. Working women hostels, Short stay homes and family counselling canters are maintained and established.

6. Condensed Courses Of Education For Adult Women

For those women who could not join main stream education and who were drop outs from formal schools. The scheme aims to provide educational opportunities to girls/women above the age of 15 years along with additional inputs of skill development/vocational training.

7. Support to Training and Employment Programme (STEP)

for women to ensure sustainable employment and income generation for marginalized and asset-less rural and urban women across the country. This scheme is a Central Sector Scheme.


Under the Centrally Sponsored Scheme (CSS) of National Mission for Empowerment of Women (NMEW),
Ministry of Women and Child Development, a National Resource Centre for Women (NRCW) has been set up with eight functional domains, namely, Poverty Alleviation, Social Empowerment, Health and Nutrition, Gender Budgeting, Gender Rights, Vulnerable and Marginalised Groups, Media and Communication and Information Technology.

Women Resource Centres or Poorna Shakti Kendras (PSK) set up at District level and at Gram Panchayat level, functioning as a one stop centre for women, have been started.


Legislative measures:

  •  Protection of Children from Sexual Offences Act, 2012
  •  Prohibition of Child Marriage Act, 2006

Also read Anil Mahlhotra’s article in TheHindu regarding POCSO act Strong provisions, weak implementation

Programmatic Measures:

  •  Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS) Scheme
  •  Integrated Child Protection Scheme (ICPS)
  •  Scheme for the Welfare of Working Children in Need of Care and Protection

Sabla- ‘Rajiv Gandhi Scheme for Empowerment of Adolescent Girls (RGSEAG)

Sabla aims at all-round development of adolescent girls of 11-18 years (with a focus on out of school girls)
The scheme has two major components: Nutrition and Non Nutrition Component. While the nutrition component aims at improving the health & nutrition status of the adolescent girls.

The non-nutrition component addresses the developmental needs including IFA supplementation, health check-up & referral services, nutrition & health education, ARSH counselling /guidance on family welfare, life skill education, guidance on accessing public services and vocational training (only 16-18 year old adolescent girls).

The National Policy for Children was approved on 26th April, 2013.

Leave a Reply